Calendar of Events



MECC Newsletter


facebook logo
Visit us on

Elks Lodge #924


MECC Tournaments

29th Annual George McLaughlin Golf Tournament

2013 George McLaughlin Tournament Results:
Championship Flight: Jesse Osbourne and Dave Poulin  were the 2013 Champions with a score of 132. Mike Olio and Gary Benjamin took 2nd  place (138), while the team of Kevin Lunn and Phil Draketook third place money with a score of 140.
Flight 1: Dave Weinbaum and Justin Barberi 1stplace (139); Tim Hutchins and Floyd Dickinson 2nd place (145); Flight 2: Al and Dave Hedding took first with a score of 141, followed by John and Kale Barberi (147). Flight 3: Tom Burrington and Lonnie Hutchins took first place with a score of 153, followed by the team of Scott Matava and Mike Hudson at 155.

Congratulations to all our champions and to everyone who participated. We’ll see you next year!

Men’s Member-Guest August 3-4. We had a great field with three flights competing. Sean Hoar/Glenn Longley (St. Johnsbury CC) took top honors in the Championship Flight, followed by the team of Phil Drake/Joe Mulligan (Woodbury) with Kevin Lunn/Chris Turley (Barre CC) in third. In Flight 1 Chad Collins/Cash Abare edged out Jerry Perantoni/Don Ambrose (Northfield CC), followed by Dave Lafreniere/Dave Hedding. Doug Gloor/Bill Kelly ruled in Flight 2, followed by Tom Burrington/Keith Pax-man and Paul Blouin/Joe Resteghini. Super tournament and a great meal served up by the staff on Saturday.

The MECC-Northfield Challenge
may have been the high point of the season, at least for the 36 MECC men who faced off against Northfield CC in the return match at MECC on the evening of August 12. MECC had been on the short end of this contest for the last few years, and in 2012 Northfield took home the inaugural Challenge Cup after besting us both home and away. This year was a different story. The first match at Northfield ended in a tie, with 4.5 points for each team. The return match was all MECC, as we took 8 matches and tied one to win the Challenge Cup and bragging rights for the next year. Final score MECC 13, North-field 5.

MECC Club Championships were held on August 17-18. Floyd Dickinson is the Men’s Club Champion, edging out Sean Hoar by one stroke over 54 holes with a score of 225 in the Championship Flight. Congratulations to Floyd on a well earned victory. Chad Collins continued his impressive winning streak in Flight 1, blowing away the field and taking 1st low gross with a score of 168, followed by Mike Hudson with a score of 177. John Barberi had 1st low net. In Flight 2 Arne Ashford took 1st low gross, followed by Pete Valz. Brian Martel had 1st Low Net.

In the ladies Club Championship, Judy Ribolini took first gross with a score of 174; Karen Lafreniere was first net with a score of 134.

2012 Tournament Results

The 28th Annual
George McLaughlin Memorial Tournament

June 23-24, 2012

Thirty teams (60 participants) competed in two-man best ball at scratch, with five flights organized by team handicap. 

Winning teams:
Championship Flight:
Jay Mullen/Scott Shaw (133), Kevin Lunn/Phil Drake (140)
Flight 1:
Doug Rossi/Paul Dickinson (143), Dale Walker/Mike Dishay (143) (matching cards)
Flight 2:
Ernie Farrington/Kale Williams (147), Geroge McDowell/Moe LaVanway (148);
Flight 3: Chaz Barberi/Justin barberi (149), Dave Weinbaum/Corey Craddock (150);
Flight 4: Scott Matava/Mike Hudson (165), Kale Barberi/John Barberi (170). 

Hole-in-One: Dale Walker on the 198 yard 8th hole on Sunday

Men’s Senior Golf Championship June 25. 
Twenty MECC Members participated and had a great time despite the rain. Thanks to Herc Wells for organizing the event. 

Winners (Group 1, 55 to 65):
1st Gross (Senior Men’s Champion) Jerry Perantoni
2nd Gross
Scott Cameron
1st Net
George McDowell
2nd Net Mark Compo  

Winners (Group 2, 66 and over):
1st Gross
Al Lanphere
2nd Gross
Pete Bagalio
3rd Gross
Gary Pletzer 
1st Net
Chuck Tremblay
2nd Net Sam Higgins
3rd Net
Ed Russell